be_ixf;ym_202302 d_05; ct_100
Photos from the 2022 Off Road Baja 400 event, qualifying round, held in Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico.

55th Annual SCORE Baja 1000

Nov 162022

Both on-course, in the pro pits and with the legions of fans that flock to Baja California, Mexico, Monster Energy will again enjoy a strong presence at this week’s 55th running of the legendary BFGoodrich Tires SCORE Baja 1000, presented by 4 Wheel Parts.

The “Official Energy Drink” of SCORE, Monster Energy’s roots in desert racing run deep. And this year’s representation in the Baja 1000 starting gate features yet another powerful and dedicated lineup of Trophy Truck, 6100 TT Spec, UTV and motorcycle racers supported by the iconic glowing green M-claw logo, including:

Tim Herbst (Trophy Truck)

Cameron Steele (Trophy Truck)

Bobby PeCoy (Trophy Truck)

Alan Ampudia & Tavo Vildosola (Trophy Truck)

Thor Herbst & Pierce Herbst (6100 TT Spec)

Matt Burroughs (UTV)

Marc Burnett (UTV)

Phil Blurton (UTV)

Justin Lambert (UTV)

SLR Honda, featuring Mark Samuels & Justin Morgan (Pro Moto)

Leading Monster Energy through three (of four) SCORE events this season is Trophy Truck racer Alan Ampudia. Currently, in 3rd place in the ’22 SCORE overall TT class point chase, Ampudia, who won the 2019 overall Baja 1000 in a Trophy Truck, will team with veteran racer Tavo Vildosola in hopes of bringing this week’s Baja 1000 premier class trophy back to Monster Energy HQ in Corona, Calif. Vildosola, who became the first Mexico-born racer win the SCORE Baja 1000 (the 43rd race), was the runner-up (to Rob MacCachren) in last year’s Baja 1000 with a time of 21:18:46.945. Finishing in 3rd place behind Vildosola was Monster Energy’s Cameron Steele (2019 Baja 1000 champ), with a time of 21:26:59.865.


Doing it all at Baja during race week, when not behind the wheel pre-running and racing, Cameron Steele is handed a mic and takes charge of the event announcer duties for SCORE.


In the hotly-contested UTV class, Monster Energy is led by Phil Blurton, who’s the defending Baja 1000 champion in the premier Pro UTV Forced Induction class. Also, noteworthy is the fact that Monster Energy’s Justin Lambert is the only Monster Energy-backed UTV racer to win on the SCORE circuit this year, doing so with a Pro UTV Forced Inductions class victory at the San Felipe 250 in April.


And on the dirt bikes, Monster Energy sits in about the best position to secure victory at the Baja 1000 as SLR (“Slam Life Racing”) Honda’s Mark Samuels and Justin Morgan have, as individuals or together, finish 1st in every Baja 1000 motorcycle division since 2014.