be_ixf;ym_202208 d_15; ct_100
Eli Tomac and contestant winner Jesse Hebert on the podium holding their Monster Millions check

Tomac heads into the Vegas night with a cool Monster Million

Oct 152018

For the second year in a row the Monster Million – the largest single payday in international motorsports – was bagged at the Monster Energy Cup. Las Vegas hotel casino will have been rubbing their hands to know that Eli Tomac left the Sam Boyd Stadium with a box full of cash after winning all three Main Events in Nevada.

The ‘MEC’ drew the interest of teams, athletes and a captive audience to the Sam Boyd for eighth time for the glitziest evening of racing on the dirtbike calendar and a meeting that a number of stars and squads from the AMA Supercross field use as round ‘0’ for the coming season.

Eli Tomac, having to leave the disappointment of the Monster Energy Motocross of Nations back in Michigan the previous Sunday, battled with 2017 MEC winner Marvin Musquin and a host of other peers like 2017 AMA Supercross Champion Jason Anderson.

The Monster Energy Cup already pays out a 100k dollar prize for the winner of the massive trophy but for the victor of all three heats the Monster Million awaits. Eli not only dispelled some of his RedBud frustrations but also some sore memories of 2017 when a heavy crash while tussling with Musquin prematurely ended his evening.


“A crazy day, a crazy night,” Tomac said. “It is incredible to get the million. I was pinning-it in that last moto and getting good drive into the sand. I’m not sure what I’ll spend the money on yet: some toy I guess!”


Tomac, chased by new teammate Joey Savatgy on the podium in his KX450F debut, was the third-ever millionaire created at the Monster Energy Cup after Ryan Villopoto (who came out of retirement for a special race appearance with Yamaha last weekend) in 2011 and Musquin twelve months ago.




Monster Energy Cup Class Overall
1. Eli Tomac
2. Jason Anderson
3. Joey Savatgy
4. Justin Barcia
5. Malcolm Stewart
6. Josh Grant
7. Vince Friese
8. Chad Reed
9. Jordon Smith
10. Blake Baggett


Cup Class Main Event 3
1. Eli Tomac
2. Joey Savatgy
3. Chad Reed
4. Jason Anderson
5. Vince Friese
6. Malcolm Stewart
7. Justin Barcia
8. Ryan Villopoto
9. Josh Grant
10. Cooper Webb


Cup Class Main Event 2
1. Eli Tomac
2. Justin Barcia
3. Josh Grant
4. Malcolm Stewart
5. Jason Anderson
6. Joey Savatgy
7. Vince Friese
8. Jordon Smith
9. Marvin Musquin
10. Blake Baggett


Cup Class Main Event 1
1. Eli Tomac
2. Marvin Musquin
3. Jason Anderson
4. Justin Barcia
5. Joey Savatgy
6. Cooper Webb
7. Malcolm Stewart
8. Josh Grant
9. Chad Reed
10. Vince Friese


Supermini Main Event 1
1. Max Vohland
2. Josh Varize
3. Kaeden Amerine
4. Nick Romano
5. Chance Hymas
6. Hunter Yoder
7. Jack Chambers
8. Jayden Clough
9. Wyatt Leibeck
10. Devin Slusher
Supermini Main Event 2
1. Max Vohland
2. Kaeden Amerine
3. Jack Chambers
4. Chance Hymas
5. Hunter Yoder
6. Talon Hawkins
7. Nick Romano
8. Josh Varize
9. Larry Reyes
10. Devin Slusher
Supermini Overall
1. Max Vohland
2. Kaeden Amerine
3. Chance Hymas
4. Jack Chambers
5. Joshua Varize
6. Hunter Yoder
7. Nick Romano
8. Devin Slusher
9. Larry Reyes
10. Jayden Clough
Amateur All-Star Main Event 1
1. Jo Shimoda
2. Seth Hammaker
3. Jalek Swoll
4. Brian Moreau
5. Carter Halpain
6. Derek Drake
7. Jesse Flock
8. Johnny Garcia
9. Braden O'Neal
10. Carson Mumford
Amateur All-Star Main Event 2
1. Derek Drake
2. Jalek Swoll
3. Jo Shimoda
4. Brian Moreau
5. Seth Hammaker
6. Carter Halpain
7. Carson Mumford
8. Jesse Flock
9. Tanner Stack
10. Parker Mashburn
Amateur All-Star Overall
1. Jo Shimoda
2. Jalek Swoll
3. Derek Drake
4. Seth Hammaker
5. Brian Moreau
6. Carter Halpain
7. Jesse Flock
8. Carson Mumford
9. Braden Oneal
10. Parker Mashburn