be_ixf;ym_202211 d_28; ct_100
Axell Hodges at the 2017 MEC Dirt Shark Whip

2017 Dirt Shark Biggest Whip

Sep 202017

The Dirt Shark, lurking from the murky depths far below, is set to strike! Blood is in the water and only one will survive the fierce fight that will be the 2017 Dirt Shark Biggest Whip contest set for Saturday, October 14, 2017 at the Monster Energy Cup. The world’s best whip athletes on a dirt bike—those who apply aggression and aptitude to outrageous  altitude—will all take to the heavens above Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas in what will be a full-on aerial assault on the city that never sleeps. 


Hear From Previous Champions and Dirt Shark Himself


“Last year was sick!” exclaims the Dirt Shark himself, “And this year will be the fifth straight year we’ve done this: The biggest names, biggest purse, biggest ramp to dirt gap, biggest kickass-ass trophy aka BIGGEST WHIP  CONTEST. This contest gives some up-and-comers the chance to showcase their skills and have the chance to lock down a spot in X Games. I’m super-stoked that the Dirt Shark Biggest Whip final will be run during the night show inside the stadium during the Monster Cup. The top eight riders will roll the dice before a sold-out crowd where we’ll showcase the biggest whips performed by the biggest names live on Fox Network.”  


When asked for his take on the ’17 Dirt Shark Biggest Whip competition, Tom Parsons, who won the inaugural event in 2013 and backed it up with another triumph last year, said, “That win at the inaugural Dirt Shark Biggest Whip contest changed my life,” says the 35-year-old Floridian. “It pretty much put me on the map. It showed I was one of the top whip guys in the world. It’s a real big deal to win it now. Jarryd McNeil won it in 2014 and 2015 and I was able to come back and win it again last year. I’m super-stoked that the final will be inside the stadium and live on Fox Sports 1 TV. Jarryd and I have been going back and forth in beating each other, so I’m really stoked to go one-up on him this year.”


One of the riders who will undoubtedly want to take a big chomp out of both Parson and McNeil over in Sin City will be the high-flying Tyler Bereman of Templeton, California.


“It’s definitely a cool event, for sure,” says Bereman, one of the most recognized and outrageous free riders on – or above – Planet Earth. “There are a bunch of gnarly dudes all gunning for the top spot at Dirt Shark Biggest Whip.  It’s the contest that solidified my invite to X Games- Best Whip. I’m stoked to be a part of it. It’s always fun to jam with the boys and roll of the dice and do whatever it takes for that top spot. I’m also really stoked that the final will be in the stadium on Saturday night. I vibe off the crowd and all the fans and have never had the opportunity to compete inside the stadium before.”


Another fiercely feared competitor will be one Axell Hodges. A social media sensation, Slay, as he is also known, is renowned for his huge whips and social media core following. A two-time X Games silver-medalist who will finally return to competition in Vegas after sitting out the 2017 X Games with an aggravating wrist injury, Hodges is in it to win it.


“All the best guys are going to be there,” points out the 21-year-old. “I know because I’ve been watching it all from the sidelines. Not fun! It’ll be nice to get back in the mix in Vegas and hopefully, I’ll keep it on two wheels. It is my first major contest of the year, and hopefully come out with a win. It’s going to be pumping and I’m going to send it for everyone in the stadium!”


Dirt Shark Biggest Whip will commence with a day qualifying session, which will take place in front of the Monster Energy Activation stage in the parking lot of Sam Boyd stadium. 5 riders will advance from the qualifier to meet the 3 pre-qualified riders to compete in an 8 man Final.


“You know now since I won Biggest Whip last year, I kind of feel like I have a target on my back,” says reigning champ Tom Parsons. “I’m one of the guys that everybody is looking at. My goal is to win, but the competition will be fierce because the Dirt Shark Biggest Whip competition is the most legitimate whip contest there is. You have the best riders and it’s a professionally judged competition. And it's the heaviest whip contest there is.” 


Pre-Qualified Riders: 

Tom Parsons

Jarryd McNeil 

Dustin Cantrell


Qualifying Riders:

Nate Adams

Tyler Bermeman

Axell Hodges

Brett Cue

Edgar Torronteras

Kris Foster

Harry Bink

Jacko Strong

Darryn Durham

Derek Beckering

Bryce Hudson

Vicki Golden




16 Invited Athletes maximum

Judged event


Practice open to all riders (top 3 do not ride during qualifier)


Day Qualifier:

Top 3 from 2016 High Rollers Whip event go straight to night show


Other riders (13 maximum)

Jam session warm up

Then all riders go for 1 whip one after one in selected order

Then repeat

Best of 2 whips is recorded

Top 5 from day qualifier move to night show in the stadium 



8 rider main event

Jam session warm up

Then all riders go for 1 whip one after one in selected order

8th to 1st

Then repeat

Best of 2 whips is recorded

Top 3 advance to a final 



Each rider will get two whips  

Highest score wins or best of 2 whips


Buy tickets at