be_ixf;ym_202306 d_01; ct_100
Monster Energy Supersport Race 1:

Race Number 6 - Michael Dunlop

Race Number 10 - Peter Hickman

Race Number 1 - John McGuinness

Dunlop achieves legend status with 20th TT win

Jun 082022

Joey Dunlop, John McGuinness and now, Michael Dunlop.

That is the list of men with 20 Isle of Man TT victories on their resumé. Michael joined uncle Joey and TT icon McGuinness by winning an epic battle with Dean Harrison in Monday’s Monster Energy Supersport race one.

Dunlop set the pace aboard his MD Racing Yamaha R6 during qualifying week and carried the tag of pre-race favourite, but Harrison had other ideas and set a ferocious pace out front once he overhauled McGuinness early in the race.

Harrison didn’t give up for even a second of the three-lap duel and, at one stage, the gap between the two men was just 0.140 seconds. A new record to Glen Helen (4’19.571) put the pressure back on Dunlop, but the Ulsterman responded in style.


He knew he needed a big final lap to seal his eighth Supersport win and he delivered, smashing his own lap record with a top speed of 129.47mph. 

It was an epic battle between two racers at the top of their game, and one Dunlop was stoked to emerge victorious from.


"That wasn't easy. Dean is a tough competitor and I knew I would have to push hard," he said after the race. I got caught up with a few riders in front of me but I knew I had to push on the final lap. The bike never missed a beat, the Yamaha went fantastic. It’s our own bike we have built in house - so it’s fantastic to get the result; of course 20 wins makes it even sweeter.”

Dunlop was joined on the podium by Saturday’s superbike race winner Peter Hickman, who had to overhaul James Hillier late in the race on his Triumph Street Triple 765 RS.

Race two takes place on Wednesday, June 8 where Dunlop will aim to make it a historic double and add another TT victory to his already incredible  record.

Check out how it all went down by pressing play on the highlights below: